As a former founding member of the Daedalus Quartet, cellist Raman Ramakrishnan won the grand prize at the 2001 Banff International String Quartet Competition.  With the quartet, he has performed coast-to-coast in the United States and Canada, in Japan, Hong Kong, and Panama, and across Europe.  The quartet has been in residence at the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, the University of Pennsylvania, and Columbia University, where Mr. Ramakrishnan maintains a teaching studio.

Mr. Ramakrishnan has given solo recitals in New York, Boston, Seattle, and Washington, D.C., and has performed chamber music on Caramoor’s “Rising Stars” series, at Bargemusic, with the Boston Chamber Music Society, and at the Aspen, Charlottesville, Four Seasons, Lincolnshire (UK), Marlboro, Mehli Mehta (India), Oklahoma Mozart, and Vail Music Festivals.  He has toured with Musicians from Marlboro, is a member of the East Coast Chamber Orchestra, and has performed, as guest principal cellist, with the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra.  As a guest member of Yo-Yo Ma’s Silk Road Ensemble, he has collaborated with musicians from the Iraqi National Symphony Orchestra and performed in New Delhi and Agra, India and in Cairo, Egypt.

Mr. Ramakrishnan was born in Athens, Ohio and grew up in East Patchogue, New York.  His father is a molecular biologist and his mother is the children's book author and illustrator Vera Rosenberry.  He holds a Bachelor’s degree in physics from Harvard University and a Master’s degree in music from The Juilliard School.  His principal teachers have been Fred Sherry, Andrés Díaz, and André Emelianoff.  He lives in New York City with his wife, the violist Melissa Reardon.  He plays a Neapolitan cello made by Vincenzo Jorio in 1837.

Photo: Lisa-Marie Mazzucco

Raman Ramakrishnan


Horszowski Trio
Jesse Mills・ Raman Ramakrishnan・Rieko Aizawahttp://www.horszowskitrio.comHorszowski_Trio___Jesse_Mills,_violin.htmlHorszowski_Trio___Rieko_Aizawa,_piano.htmlshapeimage_3_link_0shapeimage_3_link_1shapeimage_3_link_2shapeimage_3_link_3

    Individual Bios

       Horszowski Trio

       Jesse Mills  VIOLIN

       Rieko Aizawa  PIANO

ホルショフスキー トリオ

相沢吏江子 ~ ピアノ

ジェシー・ミルス ~ ヴァイオリン

ラーマン・ラマクリシュナン ~ チェロ

Horszowski Piano Trio
comprised of: Jesse Mills, violin; Raman Ramakrishnan, cello; Rieko Aizawa, piano
© 2011-2017 Horszowski Trio